Blue Water FCU

About Us

Orion (Dean) Streeter

Mission Statement

"To provide personalized financial services to our member owners and their families in a cooperative spirit while maintaining long-term financial stability"

Our mission statement says it all. Founded in 1959, we continue to operate on the original credit union philosophy of "people helping people.” We bring savers and borrowers together to provide financial security by a professional, friendly staff.

In 1959, postal worker Dean Streeter, with several of his co-workers made a decision that postal employees and other federal employees would benefit by a credit union. They knew the advantage of credit union membership. Fellow workers could help each other by pooling their savings and borrowing from one another. They petitioned the federal government, established our by-laws and Blue Water Federal Credit Union was on its way.

Today the credit union can serve federal and postal employees who work in the counties of St. Clair, Huron, Sanilac and Tuscola. Also included are the towns of Armada, Memphis, Mount Clemens, New Baltimore, New Haven, Richmond and St. Clair Shores in Macomb County, as well as the towns of Clifford, Imlay City and Lapeer in Lapeer County. Immediate family members of current credit union members and immediate family members of the above employees are also eligible for membership in the credit union.

Blue Water Federal Credit Unions' success depends on you, the member. Volunteers are the backbone of a credit union. There are many ways you can become involved. We have several commitees, such as, the Supervisory Committee, the Credit Committee and the Board of Directors. If you have an interest in any of these volunteer positions call the credit union at (810)985-6993.


A credit union is a not for profit financial institution that is owned and controlled by its members. It is operated for the purpose of providing credit at competitive rates and providing other financial services to its members.

Who owns a credit union?

You, the members, own the credit union. Every member becomes a shareholder with a minimum deposit of $5 into a regular savings account. Because you are a shareholder, this allows you one vote on major decisions placed before the membership such as Board Member elections.

How are credit unions different from banks?

There are many differences between credit unions and banks, but the most important difference is that credit unions are democratically run. Credit unions’ elect board members from the membership and allow the membership to vote on the elected officials. These officials then meet monthly, if not more, to discuss decisions regarding the credit union. Banks, on the other hand, exist to earn dividends for shareholders.

Are my deposits insured?

Yes. Have peace of mind knowing your savings accounts are insured up to $250,000.00 and IRA accounts are insured an additional $250,000.00 by the National Credit Union Administration (NCUA). NCUA is an agency of the federal government.

Why should I borrow from my credit union?

Because we are not for profit, we generally have the lowest cost loans available. Credit unions typically do not have hidden fees associated with loans. We provide quick approval on all loans and have some of the friendliest service around.

NCUA government

Your savings federally insured to at least $250,000 and backed by the full faith and credit of the United States Government.
National Credit Union Administration, a U.S. Government Agency

Equal hosuing oportunity Equal hosuing oportunity